Croque Monsieur (“Cheese and Ham Sandwich”)

dsc02717Alix and I found “Traditional French Cooking” (1975) in Amsterdam’s Waterlooplein market on a trip to Holland earlier this December. I love the title juxatposed with the author’s name. “Jennie Reekie”! If any name could be less traditionally French!

I feel a little naughty starting with such a basic recipe, but you know what? Sometimes you just need a design classic! Comment from Jennie: “this makes a very good lunchtime snack”. Any time, Jennie.

Croque Monsieur

2 slices white bread
Butter
1 slice cooked ham
1/2 teaspoon French mustard (optional)
1 slice Gruyere cheese

Remove the crusts from the bread and butter one side of each slice. Lay the slice of ham on the buttered side of one piece of bread and spread with the mustard, if wished. Lay the cheese and the second slice of bread on top. Either fry the sandwich in butter on both sides until golden, or put under a hot grill until golden brown on both sides.

Makes one sandwich.

RESULTS

msr. croque, c'est delicieusedsc027151

NOTES
Apart from yum yum what needs to be said? I might as well list my amendments.

– Didn’t remove crusts. Eff that.
– English mustard (Colmans, to be precise)
– Extra slices of Gruyere.

Later on I made another one for my friend, and we layered: cheese, ham, mustard, more cheese – possibly more ham on top? I don’t know, she is more decadent than the French. More yums, but warning: add more mustard if you do this!

Conclusion

Still a classic!

Next post to come will be pate de foie simple! I made this today and it’s setting in the fridge so I’ll try and post it up tomorrow. A demain!

Fried in lots of butter by Sarah

One response to “Croque Monsieur (“Cheese and Ham Sandwich”)

  1. My husband has been making this croque Monsieur for awhile now with swiss cheese and smoked ham, never added the mustard before but he puts it on raisin bread which is delicious. it was funny it see this recipe and relate to it.