Green Bean Salad

Today’s recipe is just a simple green bean side salad, from the Italian cookbook used for this recipe. I made spaghetti and meatballs last night, and although I used the cookbook as a jumping off point for the meatballs, I veered off-recipe so can’t really blog them here without breaking our rule of following recipes religiously, regardless of whether we think we know how to make the recipes better. They were very very very good meatballs though. I decided that the stodge of this meal needed to be countered with a nice salad.

Green Bean Salad or Fagiolini all’agro
2lb fresh green beans cut into 2-inch lengths
1/2 cup olive oil
1 tablespoon wine vinegar
1 large clove garlic
salt and pepper
dash of crushed red pepper


Cook green beans in slightly salted water until tender but still firm, about 30 minutes. Drain. While beans are cooling, rub salad bowl with garlic. Place garlic in bowl with oil, vinegar, red pepper, salt and pepper, and let stand till beans have reached room temperature. Add beans to ingredients in bowl and mix well. Place in refridgerator for 1.5 hours. Remove garlic before serving. Serves 6.

Results

bean-salad-0111

Notes

  • I didn’t cook the beans for 30 minutes, more like 20, which seemed quite adequate.
  • I wasn’t sure whether red pepper meant bell pepper or chilli pepper. I used around a third of one of these, chopped roughly and crushed with the rolling pin.
  • I halved the amounts.
  • That was it, all very simple.

Conclusion

Really tasty cold salad, which, in my opinion went nicely with spaghetti meatballs. The garlic and the pepper were not overpowering, but were definitely present. I’ll definitely make this again.  It was also good the next day mixed up with left over spaghetti.

One response to “Green Bean Salad

  1. isdinnerready

    This was so lovely. I felt the beans had a great texture and definitely didn’t need any more cooking.