Jumbles

Today’s recipe comes from The Cookery Year which was published by The Reader’s Digest Association from 1973 for about 20 years, I have the 1976 edition. It has many contributing authors including Katie Stewart and Jane Grigson. The book contains a mix of  information such as cake making and meat carving as well as recipes, grouped by month, of wildly varying complexity. Of course, I bought it for the pictures.

The Cookery Year
I decided to crack it open as I was looking for a simple biscuit recipe to use as a second item for an afternoon tea. This ‘Shaped cookie’  (their category) recipe is from the  Basic Cooking Methods section by Margaret Coombes and Suzanne of Wakelin of Good Housekeeping Institute.

Jumbles
Preparation time: 40 minutes
Cooking time: 12 – 15 minutes
Ingredients for 10 – 15 biscuits
2 1/2 oz butter
2 1/2 oz caster sugar
Half a beaten egg
5oz Self-raising flour
1 teaspoon lemon rind
1oz ground almonds
Grease two baking trays. Cream the butter until soft but not oily, then add the sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, sifted flour, lemon rind and almonds. Form the mixture into three rolls 1/2 – 3/4 in. wide; cut these into 4 in. long pieces and form these into ‘S’ shapes.
Place on the baking trays and bake in the centre of a pre-heated oven at 400 degrees (mark 6) for about 12 minutes or until risen and pale brown. Cool for a few minutes then transfer to a wire rack.
Notes
  • The dough was too dry and crumbled when I attempted to shape it as per the recipe.img_0251
  • Instead I tried various other shapes which produced 16 biscuits
  • 40 minutes is far longer than needed to make the dough, even by hand.
Conclusion
Straight out of the oven, the biscuits had a fantastic, fine, light texture however I suspected (correctly) that they would harden up over night due to the lack of fat and moisture in the dough. A third party commented “They taste as though they would last a long time”. I would make them again adding another half an ounce of butter to the dough.
Cooked jumbles
Jumbled by Elly
5 responses to “Jumbles

  1. The last picture looks like a steampunk version of Tetris.

  2. I have this book (inherited from my mum) and it’s really useful for vague things like how long to cook game & so on.

    Maybe in the olden days preparation time included time to go to the shops and buy the ingredients?

  3. Maybe?

    It’s out of print and old copies on Amazon are priced from £13 – £55 with glowing reviews (possibly by sellers?!) but I feel I snagged a bargain in paying £1.50.

  4. blimey, if times get tough I’ll have to flog my version!

  5. I too inherited this book from my mum, my sister has a copy too. It’s great for some things, but I think modern day equipment such as better ovens, food processors and modern techniques and tastes (especially when it comes to some of the stodgy desserts), mean you have to be careful when adapting a recipe.

    Still great to have knocking about.