Paprika Corn Kernel Fritters

I love  smoked paprika so much I want to quote 30 Rock.

Paprika Corn Kernel Fritterspaprika-31

LEFTOVER:  COOKED CORN KERNELS
about 1 1/2 cups

AND

Flour, 1 cup
Baking powder, 1 teaspoon
Salt 1/2 teaspoon
Paprika, 1 tablespoon
Well-beaten egg, 1
*Milk, 3/4 cup
Finely chopped green pepper, 2 tablespoons
Fat or lard
Lemon quarters, 4 – 5

Sift flour with baking powder, salt, and paprika. Beat egg into milk; blend into flour mixture. Beat with rotary beater until smooth and free of lumps. Add corn and green pepper. Drop by spoonfuls into 1/2 inch hot fat in shallow frying pan. Fry until golden brown. Drain and serve with lemon quarters.

This is a side dish – makes 4 – 5 servings.

*Substitute: Part milk, part corn liquid.

Notes

  • I only had 1 cup of sweetcorn so I adjusted the quantities of other ingredients accordingly.
  • I made the batter, realised I didn’t have any pepper in the house, ran to shop round the corner which has a carp selection of veg and as they had no green pepper, was forced to buy red.

Conclusion

There seemed to be insufficient batter to bind the fritters, however they fried perfectly which shows what I know.  (Really, my sister is the family fry queen.)  They were a very nice accompaniment to grilled chicken and steamed kale. I ended up making 9 decent sized fritters, which would probably constitute 3 – 4 portions for someone less greedy than me. (I have 5 left… mmmm, breakfast.) Another nom from Potluck Cookery.

Paprika corn fritters

Frittered by Elly

Comments are closed.