Canadian Lima Beans

Ugh, I am not in the mood to do this today. I had about half as much sleep as I need last night, I’m seized with the urge to order pizza and I don’t have the fresh tomatoes necessary for the dish I planned to make. Only a recipe containing the instruction ‘top with bacon’ will console me. Luckily, Potluck Cookery (Beverly Pepper, Faber and Faber, 1955) can furnish me with this and the means to use up the navy beans lurking in the back of my fridge.  Yes, I said navy beans, not lima as specified, I know Dr Pepper would forgive me, so you should too.

Canadian Lima Beans

LEFTOVER: COOKED LIMA BEANS
at least 2 cups

AND

Chicken stock or bean liquid ½ cup
Paprika, ½ tablespoon
Worcester sauce, 1 teaspoon
Cheddar cheese slivers, 1 cup
Bacon strips

Mix chicken stock with paprika, Worcester sauce, and beans. Place in buttered baking dish alternating with layers and cheese. Top with bacon. Bake in a moderate oven 350 degree oven until bacon is crisp and cheese has melted.

Serves 4.

VARIATION: Add mushroom

SUGGESTED: Serve with cucumbers, chopped spring onions, peas and escarole salad with Blue Cheese Dressing (No. 299) – and hot rolls.

Notes

  • Bean liquid is on no planet a substitute for chicken stock.
  • I would definitely serve this with cucumber but I don’t have any. I used peas because I am too lazy to wash or chop a fresh veg after the great effort of cutting the bacon into strips and grating an ounce of cheese.
  • I used about 1 cup of beans, halved the other quantities and baked it in a dish about 6 inches square.
  • I cooked the dish for an hour until all the liquid had evaporated.

Conclusion

canadian-lima-beansDespite appearances, 2 rashers of bacon was suitable for this quantity of beans. If I made the recipe as specified, more would be needed to adequately flavour the whole dish with the sweet, sweet taste of bacon,

Again the title baffles me. If I were north American, would I understand? I thought poutine was a layered dish and thus comparable, but wiki informs me otherwise. Anyway, this is delicious comfort food for drunks albeit with a slightly higher nutritional content.

Transcription Note: Beverly Pepper is very fond of commas.

Disgruntledly cooked by Elly

Comments are closed.