Pineapple and Cherry Loaf

Apparently 48 hours is as long as I can go without cake. I had some after lunch and now I want some more.

Pineapple and Cherry Loaf


Preparation Time: 35 min
Cooking Time: 1 ½ hours

rd-cakes
Ingredients:
6 oz. glace cherries
1 ½ oz. glace pineapple

3 oz. ground almonds
Grated rind of half a lemon
6 oz. butter or margarine
6 oz. caster sugar
3 eggs
3 oz. self-raising flour
3 oz. Plain flour

Pinch salt

Grease a loaf tin, 4 ½ in. by 9 in. (top measurement): line with buttered greaseproof paper. Wash and dry the cherries, cut them in half and set 10 aside. Chop the pineapple and mix with the cherries, ground almonds and lemon rind.

Beat the butter until soft, then add the sugar, and cream until light and fluffy. Beat the eggs before adding them to the mixture a little at a time. Sift and fold the flours and salt, a third at a time into the creamed mixture. Lastly fold in the fruit.

Spoon into the prepared tin, level the surface and arrange the reserved cherries on top. Cover the tin loosely with kitchen foil, taking care that it does not touch the cake mixture. Bake in the centre of an oven pre-heated to 350F (mark 4) for about 1 ½ hours or until well-risen and firm to the touch. Cool on a wire rack and remove the lining paper. [Reader’s Digest Cookery Year, 1976]

Notes

  • As usual, I didn’t have quite enough of a vital ingredient to make the recipe to size. Today 4oz of cherries caused me to reduce all quantities by 1/3. I could have used the same quantities of everything else but I hate playing pineapple-and-cherry-loaf-cooked‘Hunt the cherry’ in a cherry cake.
  • I used a silicone loaf tin, not a lined tin one. See how pretty!
  • Speaking of pretty (or not), I placed the cherries according to the illustration.
  • As with the other recipes in this book, the prep time assumes that you are a terrible inexperienced cook.
  • This cake creates far too much washing up – a container for the 10 cherry halves to decorate, another for the cherries, lemon rind and almonds, a bowl in which to beat the eggs and a large mixing bowl. It had better be worth it.
  • I checked it after 1 hour, a skewer came out clean but it still looked a bit pale on top for my taste. I put it back and it had the full 90 minutes.

Conclusion

The cherries sank which surprised me as the batter was very firm. The flavour is a bit weak – I would add some more lemon zest and maybe some ginger if I made it again.  I would also use fresh pineapple – the glace is quite tasty but it’s a bit like having chunks of sweet in a cake. I also can’t see why the classic creaming method is inappropriate here. The crust of the cake is quite crisp at the corners and I will update this in a few days to see how the cake has ‘kept’.

Update: The flavour and texture of the cake have improved. It’s firm as you would expect from a loaf cake. Yum.
13/04/09

P & C loaf cooked slice

Baked by Elly

Comments are closed.