Meat and Potato Latkes

I’ve ransacked Potluck Cookery (Faber & Faber, 1955) again for a fridge clear-out dish.

Meat and Potato Latkes

Leftover: Cooked meat, ground, 2 cups

AND

Grated raw potato, 2 cups
Minced onion, 1 tablespoon
Salt ½ teaspoon
Pepper, to taste
Worcester sauce, 1 teaspoon
Eggs, 1 whole and 1 yolk
Fat, shortening, lard or salad oil, ¼ cup
Sour cream (optional)
Tomato or cheese sauce


Mix meat, potato, onion, salt, pepper, Worcester sauce, and eggs. Form into flat, round pancakes about ½ inch thick. Fry in fat until golden brown. Drain and serve with sour cream, tomato or cheese sauce.

Serves 3 – 4.

SUGGESTED:  Serve with cheese tomato and Lima Beans. [Basically this, but vegetarian

  • I used lamb mince, fried off and drained of fat.
  • I halved the quantities which made 5 latkes and, erm, ate the lot. (What!? I had been gardening all afternoon!)
  • Some sour cream would be lovely although very rich and I felt a tomato sauce with parsley and thyme was the best accompaniment and some steamed green beans.
  • Various little bits came away from each latke while they were frying so I sprinkled them on the beans.
  • I fried them in corn oil. I bought some on a whim.

Conclusion

These are lovely – how could they be anything but? I can’t think of any changes I’d make if Icooked them again. The proportions of meat to potato mean that they each feel like a small meal and I wouldn’t want anything else with them apart from some veg. Some confusion on my part as to the origins of the word ‘latke’ led me to having a very enjoyable 2 minutes reading the Potato Pancake entry on Wikipedia and I encourage you to do the same.

latkes-3

Fried by Elly

One response to “Meat and Potato Latkes