Chaussons aux Pommes (French Apple Turnovers)

Some eating apples have been lurking in the fruit bowl for too long and will now have to be cooked in order to be palatable. This recipe is from February chapter of the Reader’s Digest Cookery Year (1976), written by Katie Stewart who I always associate with delicious puddings because one of her books is a family favourite. I assume  this recipe is considered particularly suitable for February, as any stored cooking apples would need to be eaten up around this time.

Chaussons aux Pommes (French Apple Turnovers)

Preparation time : 25 minutes
Cooking Time : 30 minutes

 

Ingredients (for 4 – 6):

2 large cooking apples
½ oz unsalted butter
¼ teaspoon lemon rind
2 oz caster sugar
1 level tablespoon sultanas
12 oz prepared puff pastry
1 egg
Icing sugar

Peel, core and thinly slice the apples. Melt the butter in a saucepan, add the apples and lemon rind. Cover with a lid and cook over a low heat until the apples are soft. Beat the apples to a puree, add the sugar and sultanas. Set aside until cold.

Roll out the puff pastry ¼ inch thick. Using a 3in round, fluted pastry cutter, stamp out circles from the pastry; gently roll each circle with a rolling pin to form an oval about 1/6 inch thick. Spoon the t apple mixture equally over each half of each pastry shape. Brush the edges with beaten egg and fold the pastry over. Press the edges firmly to seal. Slash the top of each pastry with a knife, brush with beaten egg and leave for 15 minutes.

Bake the pastries on wet baking trays, above the centre of an oven preheated to 425 degrees (GM 7), for ten minutes. Lower to 375 degrees (GM 5) and continue baking until golden brown. Dust with icing sugar and serve warm or cold with cream

Notes

  • I confess I went a bit off-recipe here. As I was using eating apples rather than cookers, I omitted the sugar.
  • I’m more of a raisin fan than a sultana fan and I had raisins to hand, so I used them
  • The puff pastry was bought frozen, thawed, frozen and re-thawed. Sometimes my life is too short to stuff a mushroom.
  • I don’t own a 3 inch diameter cutter so I decided to make mini ones with a 1.5 inch cutter.
  • I used 4 oz pastry, which made 12 little ones.
  • I am not a genius pastry- handler (yet) so they varied in size somewhat.
  • I rolled the pastry out as thinly as I could as I was concerned about two halve not staying stuck down during baking.

Conclusion

French Apple Turnovers

The pastry was  merely supporting act to the star filling which reminded me of lemon meringue pie. I didn’t have any cream to hand when they first came out the oven but I managed to greatly enjoy a couple anyway. (The smears on the plate are condensed steam.)

The original recipe seems very generous to me – refuting (in a small way) the idea of stricter portion-control in the past. I looked up ‘chausson’ which as well as turnover, also means slipper or baby bootee – ahhh!

Baked by Elly

Comments are closed.