Chocolate-Cheese Fudge Cake

Back in April, you might remember Alix and I hijacked Chris and Vicky’s bbq with a vintage bake-off. I took along this lemon butter cake which turned out going down well. However, I didn’t feel confident whilst the cake was cooling so I made a second cake – three columns along from the other one so another from “Female Cookbook 1978”.

INGREDIENTS
125g (4oz) butter
125g (4oz) processed cream cheese
1 cup castor sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 cup chopped walnuts
85g (2.5oz) Van Houten cocoa
300g self raising flour
0.25 tsp bicarbonate of sofa
0.25 tsp salt
1 cup sour milk
whipped cream

Method
To make frosting – heat 1/2 cup cream with 60g (1oz) butter until the latter has melted. Remove from heat. Gradually add 3.5 cups sifted icing sugar and 0.25tsp salt. Add 85g (2.5oz) melted Windmolen cooking chocolate and 1tsp vanilla essence. Beat all together over ice until thickened to spreading consistency.

For the cake – Cream butter and cream cheese with brown and caster sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in walnuts. Fold in sifted flour, cocoa, bicarbonate of sofa and salt alternately with sour milk. Fill into well-greased and lightly floured 20cm (8in) sandwich tins. Bake in a moderate oven for 45 mins. Turn out onto cake cooler and when cool, sandwich cake with sufficient stiffly whipped cream and cover with frosting.

The result

vintage choc cake

Notes

– no walnuts, I *think* I used hazelnuts instead.
– I loathe cream so didn’t bother with the frosting at all. I do hate recipes which don’t list all the ingredients at the start and run the risk of leaving you in the lurch when you get into the ‘guts’ of the recipe.
– Van Houten cocoa (and Windmolen chocolate for that matter) – this is like when American chocolate cake recipes harp on about “dutch processed cocoa”, whatever that is. Don’t worry yourselves, I always use ‘regular’ cocoa and it’s fine. I can’t think if I’ve ever even seen specific Dutch cocoa, even in Waitrose ponce section full of Charbonnel & Walker…
– did I mention I hated cream? I sandwiched these together with a basic cream cheese icing rather than cream.
– How to sour milk= tip a tablespoon of vinegar in it (I use rice vinegar – I think most people use cider vinegar. I’ve used rice vinegar mostly because I generally have some. I did invest in cider vinegar a while ago and I actually didn’t like it as much in it’s role as curdler).

Conclusion

This makes a large cake when both parts wedged together. I felt like the lemon cake I made earlier hadn’t risen enough and was too flat, and this chocolate cake went the other way! I still feel like I’m yet to find the happy medium – am sure this doesn’t happen when making Victoria sponges. Or perhaps it does? I really enjoyed the anarchy~ of mixing butter and cream cheese to start! I don’t think I’ve ever done this before and it made the cake kinda crumbly.I stuck with the cream cheese theme by making a cream cheese icing but perhaps this would have been better if I’d just gone the whole hog and made a chocolate filling? Or maybe orange – there’s an orange cream filling in the cake recipe immediately proceeding this one. Oh for goodness sakes, I must cook something other than cake sometime… let me just recover from the indie flu and I’ll see what I can do. Ehhh. Why didn’t this auto publish when it was supposed to~

5 responses to “Chocolate-Cheese Fudge Cake

  1. This was about as fudgey as … ha – I was going to type “MY ARSE” but then realised um, perhaps that would not be a good comparison?! Anyway. It is not fudgey one bit so where the hell they got that description from I have no idea.

  2. And FWIW it’s nothing like any “cheese”cake either! Most misleading title ever

  3. Your nut identification skills are shocking, young lady!

    Was it too sweet? Was it chocolate-y enough?

  4. It’s more that I wrote this up a month after making (and eating!) the cake, whilst in the throes of indie flu, so I could barely remember anything about it!

    It wasn’t too sweet, that was pitched about right – chocolate also pretty good, but not FUDGEY chocolate…

  5. That’s forgivable. I want to know more about this ‘Female cookbook’ though!