Sook Choo Na Mool (Korean bean sprout salad)

Salad number two from week of salad: Rosalie Swedlin, World of Salads. Serves 6. Six!! Good job I can eat a lot of beansprouts. Never scale down, never surrender! Or er something or other…

Ingredients
225-275g (mung) bean sprouts
4 spring onions, chopped
1 small red pepper, cored, deseeded, finely chopped up
1 minced clove garlic
4tbs veg oil
2tbs white wine vinegar
2tbs soy sauce
salt and pepper
2 tbs toasted sesame seeds

To make dressing: mix the oil, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic and freshly ground pepper. Soy sauce is quite salty so spare the salt. Place bean sprouts, red pepper and spring onions in a large wooden salad bowl. Pour dressing over the salad and toss gently. Chill for at least an hour. Just before serving, add toasted sesame seeds and toss again.

results

sook choo na mool

notes:
– So did anyone sprout their “mung” the other day when I gave you the heads up?
– More commonly spelt ‘sukju namul’ (숙주나물), but at least you know the “u”s are long! – I looked up some comparison recipes and it doesn’t appear this usually includes the red pepper, but heck, it adds some nice colour and I like raw peppers (as long as they’re not green – indigestible). The internets tells me also that the bean sprouts are generally blanched first til they turn translucent as opposed to the zero cooking we get here. here’s a companion recipe fyi. incidentally, it says you have to eat immediately as the sprouts don’t last – done this way, they were fine when I ate some next day.
– I didn’t add any extra salt, and neither did I toss in a large wooden salad bowl, because I don’t have one. Do any unmarried people have large wooden salad bowls? They are only ever given as wedding gifts! I used a red plastic bowl from IKEA and if that makes a huge difference – whatevarrrrrr.

conclusion

Dude, despite all the oil and vinegar and soy sauce, it still tasted like cold bean sprouts, and if it weren’t for the delicious sesame seeds this would be a bit of a chore by itself. But this is a side dish and should accompany a bunch of stuff – I had mine with chicken and udon noodles (i realised why udon noodles are so grate – they’re basically *long gnocchi*). This book is kind of annoying me because you have no idea whether things are stand alone meals or side dishes, or if they’re side dishes what they’re good served along with. Growl. I’d make it again but i don’t think there’s much need for all that vinegar. And why not add a tbs or two of sesame oil instead of the veg? And I think blanching would make it feel a bit less like… grim faced cold bean sprouts. Serve with hot carbohydrates! Mmm, hot carbohydrates…

The next and final salad of the week is herbed carrot salad! Can you stand the excitement. Watch out for its incorporation in the new style of fusion I call “idiotface”!

3 responses to “Sook Choo Na Mool (Korean bean sprout salad)

  1. I am unmarried and have a large wooden salad bowl. I keep my oven gloves in it…

  2. Hurrah! Do you also have those salad “tongs” that are in the shape of hands? I think if I had a large wooden salad bowl I would probably keep my favourite yarn in it.

  3. Actually I don’t own any salad tongs…and it’s only just occurred to me that might be why I never use my salad bowl…