Crispy Corned Tuna

My second from the St Michael All Colour Budget Cookery Book. The fish pie was not so dreadful that I was scared to try another from this tome, so I went for another fishy dish. This recipe is truly budget, and with the addition of the crisps on top is definitely not one to serve to grown-ups. Actually, thinking about it I’m not sure it’s suitable for children either (I think cats might like it though).

Crispy Corned Tuna

Almost all the ingredients for this crispy-topped pie come from the store cupboard, and it takes less than half an hour to prepare and cook.

25g butter
25g flour
300ml milk
50g cheddar cheese
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 x 200g can of tuna fish
1 x 326g can sweetcorn
2 large tomatoes, finely sliced
1 x 71g packet salted potato crisps

Melt the butter in a saucepan. Stir in the flour and cook for 1 minute. Gradually add the milk and bring to the boil, stirring constantly. Simmer for 2 minutes, stir in the cheese and season to taste. Flake the tuna and add to the sauce with the liquid from the can. Fold in the drained sweetcorn. Use the tomato slices to line a greased ovenproof dish. Spoon the tuna mixture into the centre of the dish and crumble the potato crisps on top. Place in a moderate oven (180°C/ 350°F/ Gas Mark 4) for about 20 minutes, until the top is brown and crisp. Serve with slices of thick French bread.

Results

miscfood 092

Notes

  • This was actually more hassle to make than it was worth
  • 71g bags of crisps are hard to come by! I used three 24g bags.
  • The end result was a lot more liquid than I expected – I imagined something more like a pasta bake, but it was more akin to a thick soup
  • Too much sweetcorn. Far too much.
  • The crisps form a chewy sheet that floats atop the goo, gradually becoming limper and limper. Delicious, I think not.
  • Overall kind of grim, I had some for lunch with basmati rice, and that improved it a little.
5 responses to “Crispy Corned Tuna

  1. This dish is honestly my idea of hell. You really took one for the team by trying this. I feel sick thinking about it.

  2. Looking back I am surprised I got through so much of it. It’s really put me off sweetcorn.

  3. SWEETCORN IS POISON TO ABI.

  4. This is the kind of dish that I imagine Americans eating with their love of casserole involving tinned soup.

    This is not a recommendation.

  5. Hi there I found this through searching on google for this EXACT recipe from that cookbook that I once loved.
    I think this dish is VERY good, but can go very wrong…you need to make sure the butter/flour mixture is very thick and then add the milk and stir to make sure of NO lumps. And then keep stirring for longer than it says for to thicken it up . When adding the tuna drain off the can first (unlike what it says). Also I wouldn’t use that many packets of crisps, one normal bag is fine. It should be a thick consistency, most definitely not a soup!