Herbed Carrot Salad

a) apologies for the delay; b) ph34r the fusion of herbed carot salad, mashed potato, sook choo na mool and SAUSAGES! This is what happens when you cannot make salads for one, have urgent leftovers in need of eating and yet CANNOT refuse yourself sausage and mash after a tough day. Hurrah?!

Ingredients
450g carrots
peeled clove garlic
1/8 – 1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp paprika
pinch cayenne pepper
juice of one lemon
1/8 tsp granulated sugar
olive oil to taste
salt
freshly chopped parsley to garnish

wash, peel and dice the carrots. cook in boiling water (and there I was wondering why ice water wasn’t doing the job), to which the peeled garlic has been added, for 10-12 minutes or until barely tender. drain, set aside.
combine the spices with the lemon juice, sugar and salt. Mix until blended, add to carrots, chill.
Just before serving, sprinkle with oil and chopped parsley.

results

herbed carrot salad

notes:
– 10-12 minutes!! Holy Tegoshi Batman. I expect, dear readers, you can use your own judgement as to when carrots are done and if you feel that is too long, “until barely tender” is the best guideline.
– Hate hate hate measuring things in eighths of teaspoons, also hate spice jars too tiny to fit a teaspoon in.
– How do you all juice lemons if you don’t have a juicer? My friend has a Philippe Starck one, has never used it. Anyway, I slice the lemon into rounds and squeeze each one into a cup and then make a mess scooping out the pips. I guess I got about a quarter of a US cup of juice. Juicy!

conclusion:
Hurrah but where are the herbs!! The only herbs are the parsley garnish! And guess what, I didn’t use any. I never have parsley, it didn’t say flat or curly and frankly I usually ignore garnish suggestions anyway because they – are just irritating, even if they DO look good. I don’t have a garden or any living herb plants and object to the 75% mark-up supermarkets put on those awful plastic packets arghhh SO ANNOYING. Anyway – all the lovely lemon in this was a little overpowering on first scoff, but I found myself craving the dish again in a few days time. Lemon craving?? I’d like to experiment with this some more – I’ve had good results with lemon juice, nanami (or shichimi) seasoning (japanese 7 spice basically), a bit of salt, extra pepper and some paprika. But nothing AT ALL to do with herbs!!

SERVING WITH S&M OPTIONAL

korean carrot sausage and mash ultima fusion

2 responses to “Herbed Carrot Salad

  1. I have a lemon juicer like this: http://www.dkimages.com/discover/DKIMAGES/Discover/Home/Food-and-Drink/Ingredients/Fruit/Lemon/Lemon-008.html Cost pennies, works perfectly. Also the way to get more juice from any citrus fruit is to make sure it’s warm – y’know, microwave on low for a few seconds or leave it by the cooker, if it’s on.

    The salad sounds…. OK. I’m not sure I quite understand it but then I love raw carrot. It should be called ‘spiced carrot salad’, atleast.

  2. It is great if you have a bag of carrots and yet crave a lemon and don’t have any tonic for the GIN based lemon solution…