Cinnamon Slices

I am greatly enjoying broadening my baking repertoire through this blog and today is opportunity for another experiment. I genuinely have no idea how these will turn out – firm? Crunchy? Crumbly? (This recipe from the Good Housekeeping Institute’s Cookery Compendium,Waverly, 1955).

Cinnamon Slices

Ingredients
6oz ground almonds

8oz icing sugar
¼ teaspoon cinnamon
A little egg white
1 tsp flour

Sieve the almonds, cinnamon and 6oz sugar into a basin and mix to a fairly stiff paste with egg white. Knead with the hand until smooth, then roll out on a lightly floured board into a long narrow strip, about 1/8 inch in thickness. Make an icing by mixing the remaining sugar and flour and moistening with egg white. Spread this smoothly over the paste with a wetted palette knife, and then cut into fingers. Place on a greased and floured tin and bake in a moderate oven (350 degrees) until light brown in colour and firm and crisp to the touch – about 20 minutes.

  • I halved the recipe, as per.
  • I needed exactly half the white of a medium egg, although I added it in tiny amounts.
  • The batter tasted like marzipan, quel surprise.
  • I cut the dough into 20 small biscuits – roughly  1 x 3 cm.
  • I baked them for just over 20 minutes.
  • All very quick and simple to make.

Results

These are a cross between a meringue, an almond macaroon and those sponge fingers used in tiramisu. (I want to call them boudoir fingers?) They rose a lot when baked when surprised me – they’re at least 3 times as thick. Again, boo to the authors for not specifying how far apart the biscuits should be placed on the tray.  They rose enough to become hollow, with  thin, crisp, top layer and a pleasantly chewy, bottom layer. The amount of cinnamon is perfect, blending with the almond. The icing adds an extra texture rather than a flavour – so when I make these again, I will probably add some lemon zest to it.  This review contains the word ‘crisp’ far too many times but they are crisp and like all crisp things, they are very more-ish.


Sliced by Elly

One response to “Cinnamon Slices

  1. Mmmm. Definitely will add this to my biscuit repertoire.