Chicken Paprika

My feelings about paprika are well-documented so I’m slightly ashamed that I’ve never cooked Chicken Paprika before – I have at least 2 different recipes for it. I’m going to start with the simplest though – from Beverly Pepper’s Potluck Cookery (Faber and Faber, 1955).

Chicken Paprika

LEFTOVER: Cooked chicken
At least 4 slices or 1 ½ cups

AND

Fat, 2 tablespoons
Sliced onion, 1 large
Paprika, 1 tablespoon
Egg yolk, 1 beaten with 1 cup sour cream
Salt and pepper to taste

Sauté onion in hot fat until golden brown. Add chicken and paprika. Cook 5 minutes. Add egg yolk-sour cream mixture, salt and pepper. Simmer very slowly 10 minutes.

Serves 3 – 4

SUGGESTED: Serve on buttered noodles with Mushroom Croquettes and buttered rye bread slices.

Notes

  • I quartered the recipe – using 1 chicken thigh fillet, browned quickly in corn oil, which I also used as the fat in the recipe.
  • I was not keen on the suggested sides and used brown rice and green beans.
  • I may have burnt this slightly – it started off a nice orange and then turned somewhat brown.

Results

This was quick, easy and completely delicious. It was not heavy and rich and although it was lovely with rice, it would also be good with crusty bread and a green salad. The recipe gives an interesting insight into 1950s portion sizes – 1 slice of chicken and a quarter of an onion is a normal serving?  Only if you serve it with pasta and breaded, fried fungi.

Paprika’d by Elly

2 responses to “Chicken Paprika

  1. Buttered noodles! Buttered bread! Buttered chicken! Buttered beer! Buttered balrog on a bed of fell meats!

    Who ever has leftover chicken anyway – grmpg.

  2. I sometimes have leftover chicken – if I’ve roasted a whole one.