Bacon and Parsley Scones

I was recently given three industry-sponsored recipe leaflets, one of which is dated 1966 and I assume the others are of a similar age.

IMG_0899

This one was written by Audrey Ellis, a British cookery writer who wrote 65 books, includingColourful Entertaining: Cooking for the Hostess, Easy Freeze Cooking and Cooking for your Outline: Slimming in Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter. I know it’s partly to do with the currently crowded market, but I love the versatility of cookery writers of the past. This recipe is from the ‘Substantial Snacks’ section.

Parsley Scones

8oz self-raising flour
2oz margarine or cooking fat
1 tablespoon parsley, finely chopped
2oz streaky bacon chopped and fried
¼ pint milk

Sift flour into a bowl.rub in fat til mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Add parsley and bacon. Mix into a soft dough but not sticky dough with milk. Turn onto a floured board, knead lightly into an 8 inch round, about ¾ inch thick. Transfer to a greased baking sheet and score into 8 triangles with back of knife. Brush with milk. Bake towards top of oven, at electric 450 degrees, gas mark 8 for 20 to 25 minutes. Cool slightly, break scones apart and serve warm with butter.

Notes

  • There is quite a bit of prep involved, for scones – chop the parsley, fry the bacon…
  • The last time I made scones I forgot to score the top and ended up with just one massive scone. Not this time!

Results

Perfect first-meal-of-the-day-at-the-weekend food. I wasn’t sure how these would turn out as my scone guru informs me not to overknead but the texture was fantastic – a very thin, almost biscuit-y crust with soft, springy interior.  I also thought I might have overcooked the bacon as I cooked it to the crisp, dark stage bu the variation in texture was perfect. They don’t need any extra seasoning either – the bacon/parsley combination was savoury but not overpowering. Not sure how to store these, considering they contain meat and a large amount of flour (i.e. would probably go stale in the fridge). It seems best to freeze them and defrost and toast as necessary.

Sconed By Elly

One response to “Bacon and Parsley Scones

  1. (1964) 450 degrees Fahrenheit = (2009) 230 degrees Celcius. thank goodness no-one’s changed gas regulo settings.

    Dead right about not kneading scones.