Bohnensalat

This is another from Salad Days, as featured here. I ate it with the Quiche of Fail.

Bohnensalat

An Old German salad. This is my own recipe inherited from my mother, who inherited it from her mother, who I suspect inherited from her mother. However, this particular version I like to feel is distinguished by its simplicity. Smooth and soft, it can be served instead of a vegetable with just about any dish.

400g green string beans

3 tablespoons oil

1 tablespoon vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

1 small onion, finely chopped, or shallot or some spring onions

1/2 teaspoon dried tarragon, oregano, dill or garlic

1 sprig parsley for garnish

1 Cut the washed beans into 25mm lengths and boil in salted water until barely tender. Drain and rinse with cool water. Leave to cool.

2 Combine oil, vinegar, salt and pepper in a salad bowl, whisking together well. Add the chopped onion and herbs (if used)

3 Add the cooled beans and toss it all together gently. Leave to marinate for 1 hour in a cool place.

4 Toss again just before serving and garnish with parsley

Results

plaice 031

Notes

  • Really easy preparation – I am more impressed with the instructions in Salad Days the more I make from it. They really do seem to have written really solid and workable recipes. I guess it is just salad though.
  • Not quite so sure about the amount of onion. The dressing didn’t quite carry it and instead a pile of onion collected at the bottom of the dish.
  • Flavourwise it’s mainly oniony, and quite bold oniony at that. Do not make this salad if you don’t like onion!
  • Not half as good as this similar bean dish, they are both as easy to make as each other, so I can’t see myself making this when I could make the other.
  • I used dill and reckon that other herbs would be interesting to try in this. Could change it quite a bit, perhaps.
  • I forgot to garnish with parsley. Oops.

Bohned by Alix

Comments are closed.