Curry Knots (savoury biscuits)

Although I referred to these disparagingly in another post, I secretly thought they would be quite nice and wanted to eat them. (Another dish for the party, this time from the Good Housekeeping Institute’s Cookery Compendium, Waverly 1955. You can see the desired result here in the bottom right-hand corner.)

Curry Knots
2oz butter or margarine

4oz flour
1tsp curry powder
A pinch of salt
Egg yolk or water to mix

Rub the fat into the flour, add the sieved curry powder and salt and mix well. Bind together with a little egg yolk or water, until a stiff but pliable dough is obtained. , Knead well, to remove any cracks, and roll the mixture into a long strip about 1/4 inch thick. Cut narrow strips about 6 inches long and tie each into a knot, as seen in the picture. Brush over with beaten egg yolk and bake in a moderately hot oven for 10 – 15 minutes, until they are golden brown.

Notes

  • I made half as per.
  • I have never bought curry powder so chose Schwartz Medium (as the company was formed in 1889), the ingredients on the container were the same as the contents of my spice shelf. I shall have to make some more ‘curry’ recipes now I am equipped.
  • The curry powder has a slightly chicken-y taste, which I found slightly odd as I usually make vegetarian Indian food.
  • The dough, despite my efforts, was far too dry to form as suggested, I used a flower-shaped cutter to cut them out and then cut them in half again.


Curry Knots

Results

The result was savoury, definitely cumin-y pastry. I didn’t mix the curry powder as thoroughly as necessary so some were merely flavoured whilst others were noticeably more pungent. Almost all were eaten by the end of the night which surprised me. Not an unpleasant experience but not one to be repeated.

Not knotted by Elly

One response to “Curry Knots (savoury biscuits)

  1. They weren’t bad, by any means, but they weren’t very exciting either. I think I got one of the blander ones..