Vintage Cocktails

Here’s a run-down of  the cocktails we drank at the cocktail and canape party.

vogue From Vogue Cocktails by Henry McNulty (Octopus Books, 1983). This is a very eighties book, with great illustrations, (some of which I’ve scanned in).

The Godmother

1.5 ounces vodka

3/4 ounce amaretto

Serve in an Old Fashioned glass, stirred with ice.

This was niiiice. We used martini glasses instead of the proper glasses though (because martini glasses are the most practical type of glassware when drunk).

Green Treetop

2 ounces vodka

2 ounces lemon juice

Sugar to taste

Dash of crème de menthe

Mint leaves, chopped

Pour the vodka, lemon juice and sugar over ice. Serve with the mint and a drop of crème de menthe in a tall glass.

This one was odd. It left a strong impression of Listerine. And not in a good way. I had two, though I fail to see how I could have justified that to myself, even when drunk. I believe this photo of Sarah’s features the dregs of a Green Treetop.

Leave It To Me

2 ounces gin

1 ounce maraschino

1 ounce lemon juice (or lemon squash)

1 dash grenadine

1 egg white

Shake all the ingredients hard for a frothy delight and serve in a large cocktail or wine glass.

I didn’t have one of these, but Elly has a photo –

Leave it to me1

A ‘Leave It To Me’

Frothy delight? You tell me.

mixersFrom The Official Mixer’s Manual by Patrick Gavin Duffy (Garden City Books, 1954). This book contains a wealth of cocktails with intriguing names like Elk’s Own cocktail, Flu cocktail, Horse’s Neck cocktail, Mr Eric Sutton’s Gin Blind cocktail, Rah Rah Rut cocktail, Some Moth cocktail, and Special Rough cocktail.

Applejack No. 2

3/4 calvados

1/4 sweet vermouth

1 dash angostura bitters

Stir well with ice and strain into glass

As far as I remember this one was rather nice. I think I had two. There was certainly no calvados left the next morning.

Damn The Weather

1/2 dry gin

1/4 sweet vermouth

1/4 orange juice

3 dashes curaçao

Shake well with ice and strain into glass.

This one comes out a murky green colour, but is drinkable. I had at least two of these. Or did I? God knows.

Church Parade

2/3 English gin

1/3 dry vermouth

1 dash curaçao

4 dashes orange juice

Stir well with ice and strain into a glass. Serve with a cherry.

Another murky green one, if memory serves me correctly (unlikely). Not sure what kind of church parades Patrick Gavin Duffy was going to in the fifties. Communion curaçao anyone?

damntheweatherA ‘Church Parade’

Sherry and Egg

Carefully break one egg into a cocktail glass, leaving the yolk intact. Fill the glass with sherry.

This ‘drink’ was attempted when the party was well and truly underway. As you may be able to infer from the above list of cocktails tried (and the increasingly incoherent tweets I appear to have sent) I was in a state of advanced refreshment when I ‘went rogue’ and assembled this monstrosity.  I admit I never expected to enjoy it, and this was a true experiment to see if I was able to actually even drink it, when everything about it made me want to run a mile in the opposite direction, vomitting all the while. After making it we spent some time poking the intact yolk that was suspended so enticingly in the sherry –

shezzer-an-ezzer

– until I plucked up the courage to, well, retire to the bathroom with the cocktail, and Sarah and her camera. At this point I had a huge attack of the misgivings and spent a fair 5 minutes saying ‘no no I can’t I physically can’t I can’t drink this no’.  This looked like this:

eggface

It really did seem impossible to even raise the glass to my mouth. But, dear reader, in the name of Science and this blog I did. I knocked the contents of the glass back into my mouth and I swear that vile stuff, that tainted sherry, that crucially intact yolk were in my mouth for all of half a second before I’d ejected them from my being, into the bathtub, creating a horrendous splatter of yolk/ sherry all up the side of it.  Then there was some retching (happily there are no photos of this part). Actually, casting my mind back, this was the point at which I opted to make myself another Green Treetop. I wanted that minty freshness!

8 responses to “Vintage Cocktails

  1. Amaretto is generally a WIN wherever it is found.

    By the way readers, I’ve now made the scans from the Vogue book as mentioned at the start of the post public on flickr, for anyone who clicked those links and found they were private pictures! My bad..

  2. I’m not sure I have completely got rid of that minty after taste from some of these cocktails.

    Another Godmother should help…I seem to remember the Amaretto getting finished quite early!

  3. ‘advanced refreshment’ 😀 I like that!

  4. So did I!

  5. Oh I thought that one was a ‘damn the weather’. But yr probably right about the cherry mention. I must edit my flickr so future generations will not be misguided.

  6. I think I’ve heard that raw egg is less digestible than cooked/whisked hard. Something to do with the protein needing to be denatured to make it nutritious and hence worth ingesting. That egg’n’sherry sounds utterly vile. Can you concoct a printable name?

  7. The Mouth Assault? My feelings do mainly fall into the unprintable camp..

  8. Pingback: Vintage Cocktails The Vintage Cookbook Trials | Timeless Glassesman