Cheese and Tomato Savouries

moderncookery2These were my contribution to our Canape party’s ‘Guess The Cheesy Decade’ competition, where 3 canapes were made, from various decades and guests were asked to, well, guess the decade. I can’t remember what the consensus was on when this recipe was from, but I don’t think anyone got it right. The recipe is from Modern Cookery Illustrated by Lydia Chatterton (Odham’s Press Ltd), and my edition is a 1947 reprint.

cheesetom

Notes

  • I made 3 times this amount, yielding 12 savouries.
  • Not being sure what patty tins are, never mind actually having any in my kitchen, I used fairycake papers instead.

Rather unfortunately I appear to not have a photo of these. However, if you can imagine irregularly formed splodges of cheese and tomato on rounds of toast you’re pretty much there. They tasted a little like vomit – the parmesan didn’t work well here, and the overall effect was not great. I wouldn’t make these again.

To make up for the lack of photos of these savouries, here’s some scans from the source book:

grater

lemoncake

pictorial

One response to “Cheese and Tomato Savouries

  1. Patty tins are tiny pie tins. You can still buy metal ones, but (obviously) they mostly found made of foil, cradling Mr K******’s Individual Bakewell Tarts and the like.

    The woman in the final illustration has very long arms – is that why she’s smiling so much?