Squash Pie

I roasted half squash a couple of days ago, having used the other half in a stew and, as these were so good, decided to attempt another, similar recipe from the same book, Potluck Cookery by Beverley Pepper (Faber and Faber, 1955).

IMG_1217


Notes

  • I made exactly the amount stated, again!
  • Mashing milk-sodden toast into cold roast squash is not as easy as it sounds.
  • After 25 minutes, there was still a lot of uncooked cream swilling around the top of the pie so I gave it another 20 minutes in the oven.

Results

squash pie

Not a success, ladies and gents. Firstly, it is desperately in need of another flavour – cheese, bacon, tomato, peppers, herbs, anything. Secondly the onion, despite being chopped very finely,  was still rather hard after 45 minutes. The texture is pleasantly light and a good match to the courgettes in tomato sauce I ate with it, but it still seemed only half thought-through as dish. I’m not convinced of the point of the cream either – saving some of the bread as crumbs and topping it with them would be far more interesting.  I might try this again, slowly cooking the onions in the butter first (actually, I’d probably use olive oil)  and adding some other form of seasoning. As it is, I heartily recommend you do not try it.

Pie’d by Elly

Comments are closed.