Stir-Fried Minced Meat with Soya Sauce, Mushrooms & Green Peas with Onion Cakes

cheapchowHere’s two from Kenneth Lo’s 1978 book on Chinese cooking – Cheap Chow. I’ve been meaning to cook more from this book, and now my budget is somewhat tight I hope to get on with some of the more adventurous recipes. There’s one for Broad Bean, Potato and Belly of Pork Soup, which sounds amazing, but would require me to tackle pig’s trotters and I’m just not sure I’m ready for that kind of commitment. Today’s recipe features the much more familar mince, because, as Kenneth points out ‘In facing up to the problems of budget cookery, sooner or later one has to resort to the use of minced meat‘. So here goes!

mincerecipeNotes

  • I used beef mince.
  • I omitted the red wine as I had none
  • I forgot the parsley garnish. I always forget garnishes. I would be terrible on Masterchef: The Professionals
  • Generally the recipe was very easy and produced a pan of mince and peas which smelled great, and looked dreadful, but importantly tasted good. Not amazing, but good and hearty. The cornflour thickened the juices well, and made the food glisten (I decided this was ok rather than disturbing).
  • Canned mushrooms felt like a terrible indulgence, not in terms of cost, but the whole pre-sliced thing is like getting a cab home from the pub because you can’t be bothered to wait a couple of minutes at the bus stop.

The result

mince

I ate this accompanied by Onion Cakes from the same book – here’s the recipe:

onioncakerecipe

These turned out ok – very gluey batter meant they were irregular shapes and a complete mess to handle, but they were a nice alternative to the usual carb accompaniments to a meal. You can kind of see them in the photo under the mince.

One response to “Stir-Fried Minced Meat with Soya Sauce, Mushrooms & Green Peas with Onion Cakes

  1. Now I have discovered the joy of POTATO STARCH I will never be using cornflour ever again. You think it makes things glisten? Try POTATO STARCH. I am converted. That name again? POTATO STARCH.

    You might also be able to put it on collars. People starched collars in the old days, didn’t they.

    I shall be doing some more Ken Lo (different book) soon as well.