Fruit Soup – Plum

Fruit, somone said to me recently, is very forgiving. He was referring to the many ways it can be stored and used and I could only agree as I confessed to the puree of over-ripe pears and apples in my freezer, safe and waiting for me to make muffins. I found this recipe when I was looking for a way to eat up some plums – some of which were firm, some of which were, shall we say, a little squishy.  (This recipe is from Florence Greenberg’s Jewish Cookery Book, published by the Jewish Chronicle Publications, 1947.)

fruit soup recipe

Notes

  • I quartered the fruit and added water, not vegetable stock
  • The cornflour didn’t blend well and the whole thing had to be whisked thoroughly to get rid of lumps. If I made this again with the cornflour , I would make it with the wine first and then mix it all in. In fact,  I feel it is superfluous and won’t use it. (I may have also overcooked it (i.e. over-reduced it) slightly as it was almost very thick after, I had added the conrflour.)
  • Despite the recipe’s length, I still managed to mis-read it and add both wine and cinnamon.

fruit soup

Results

This seemed less 1940s and more 1490s. It’s hard to convey quite how delicious and complicated the flavour of this simple dish is. It is my new culinary best friend and I will be inflicting it on others in the near future.

Souped up by Elly

4 responses to “Fruit Soup – Plum

  1. My mother, who is German Jewish and emigrated in her teens (in the 1930’s), made fruit soup all the time. It involved whatever was in season, and therefore especially good and ripe. She’d cook stone fruit (peaches, plums and cherries–sometimes apricots or nectarines), cinnamon sticks, lemon zest, and water and/or wine together. Sometimes cloves were added, sometimes a little sugar, and if she felt like it, raisins would be tossed in at some point. I think berries were occasionally used, too.

    She did thicken with a bit of corn starch (corn flour), making a slurry with cold water first to avoid lumps. After chilling, the whole spices were removed and the soup was served, often with a dollop of sour cream.

    It’s so good for dinner on a hot day.

  2. Mimi, thank you for your comment – so interesting and helpful.

    I love cloves and shall make sure I buy some before making this again (probably in about 8 months time now the weather has turned!).

  3. Carsmilesteve

    I was going to suggest slaking the cornflour first to avoid lumps

  4. *nods sagely* I shall do this next time.