Caldo Verde

portugueseI have eaten this delicious dish in Porto, in its native country, and fancied creating it at home. The recipe is from Portuguese Cookery by Ursula Bourne (Penguin, 1973) and features a very simple ingredient list, which as I’m on a rather tight budget at the moment appealed.

 

caldoverde

  • I made the full amount. It’s so cheap I figured it would do no harm. Plus the odds of it going wrong seemed slim.
  • Shredding cabbage finely is tedious, but happily I have a sharp machete and enjoy the stress-relieving properties of reducing vegetables into tiny bits.
  • I don’t think I mashed the potatoes enough – if you’re making this yourself it might be an idea to whiz the cooked potato in a blender so it’s of a consistency more like puree.

Results

janssonsfail017

So, slightly anaemic looking and lumpier than the one I had in Portugal. The taste was nice but a little more salt would have pushed it over into properly tasty. I plan to put it all through the blender and add salt, and then I reckon it’ll be amazing. Perhaps put some chorizo in there too…chorizo only every makes things better, after all!

Cozinhado por Alix

y tasty. I plan to put it all through the blender and add salt, and then I reckon it’ll be amazing. Perhaps put some chorizo in there too...chorizo only every makes things better, after all!
2 responses to “Caldo Verde

  1. Oooh, that’s tonight’s dinner sorted then. I was wondering what to do with a spud and a cabbage that wasn’t bubble and squeak…

  2. PS: made this for dinner with a bit of chorizo and it was delicious! I wish I’d made more, because seconds would have been great!