January’s resolve..

Hello readers! It’s been an awfully long time since I posted anything, for which I apologise. It’s been a combination of moving house, being in South America and being a terribly lazy person.  I can only promise to try to be better in 2010.  I shall try to get my contribution to the VCBT Children’s Party we had back in October blogged and I’ll scan in some more recipe cards and Brillat-Savarin excerpts,  and and and MAYBE I’ll even cook some new (old) stuff.

2010  is also going to be the year of badly translated Spanish recipes, as I couldn’t resist bringing some back from Buenos Aires, so Acelgas con Queso (Cheesy Chard!) Princesitas (?), Torta de Navidad (Christmas Cake!), Merluza de Fiesta (Party Cod?),  Papas con Leche (Potatoes. With MILK),  Rosca al Ron (Something with rum), Apios Rellenas! (Rolled….Apes?!) , Nutria al Horno! (Baked, er, Coypu?). I have a GCSE grade B in Spanish, but as has been repeatedly proved whilst in Spanish speaking countries this qualification is basically useless.

Finally, here’s  a picture of something I will blog at some point. I’d like to hear people’s guesses as to what the hell it is/ what’s in it…so, get to the comments!

Cobbled together by Alix

10 responses to “January’s resolve..

  1. Give us a clue. Is it raw and waiting for heat, or cooked, or raw and ready to eat? Possibly something marinading.

  2. It is heated and ready to eat.

  3. I don’t know but does the Whatever look like Pac-man on purpose? 😀

  4. That is an unintentional Pac-Man.

  5. If that was my swimming pool, I’d have it dredged. (It’s the blue dish and foliage . . .)

    ‘Cobbled’ you say, so is it a cobbler variant, the white-capped centrepiece a scone-alike?

  6. I’ll give you a clue. It’s savoury, and from a non-English recipe book.

    ‘Cobbled’ is a red herring.

    How long do I keep going with this before everyone is bored and just wants me to say the answer, which will probably be quite underwhelming when it comes to it!

  7. Tell please!

  8. It’s from the Penguin book of Portuguese cookery and it’s a soup called Açorda – basically oil, water, salt, lots of garlic, and coriander with bread in the bottom of the bowl, and a poached egg floated on top.

    It had a distinct sense of delicious potential, but the fact it’s mostly oil tended to distract from this!

  9. One to avoid. Given the ingredients and your imagination, who’d arrive at this concoction?

  10. If only more people would read this.