Blueberry Tart

Piemonth continued in the 3rd week of Feb, (week 2 was cancelled so I could have swine flu/glandular fever/some other rottenness) with the US classic blueberry pie! (Ok, tart.) I have always had quite a low opinion of blueberries au nature – I find them a bit limited and sickly flavour-wise, but this recipe seemed to counter-balance that with the addition of other seasoning.

I decided to attempt a new kind of pastry (to me) also, tart paste, translated from pate a foncer which means lining dough and is apparently the classic French pie dough. (I wouldn’t know, I mostly stick to les gateaux or les mousses in France.) Both of these are taken from Ann Seranne’s The Complete Book of Desserts.

Notes

  • I made the pastry the day before and stored it in the fridge overnight.
  • A quart of blueberries, for our UK/European readers, is about a litre, which was about 900g of blueberries.
  • It was very obvious when I was rolling out the pastry that a 9 inch diameter dish was too big. I used a spring-sided cake tin as I only own a small, shallow pie dish.
  • The pastry was too thin to shape or lift properly so I didn’t bother trying to cut it into  a perfect circle, it ended up somewhat rustic looking
  • The recipe specifies to ‘butter’ but not flour the tin. I was suspicious of this but followed the recipe to the letter.

Results

The pastry stuck to the sides, the juice soaked through the pastry and when I started to open the sides of the tin, the pastry started to split. So I served it by scooping it straight out of the tin, with some more of the double cream. The flavour was amazing. My two guests and I all had seconds. (Next time I will use a 6inch diameter dish and halve the amount of filling)

Berried by Elly

3 responses to “Blueberry Tart

  1. Oh my heavens, that looks amazing. I’m so envious. Did you have a damn fine cup of coffee with it or does that have to be cherry pie to be authentic?

  2. This was pudding after a lovely, healthy dinner of puy lentils and veggies, so it was served with… more wine.

    I would love to buy some frozen cherries and have another go at the same recipe though – maybe substituting the lemon juice for orange.

  3. Jane Grigson’s “Good Things” (1971) has an almost identical recipe using gooseberries. Cherries would work a treat; tinned black ones used to be good, if they’re still around.