Cauldron Goulash and Galuskas

This comes from the rather alarmingly covered Hungarian Culinary Art by József Venesz (Corvina Press, 1958):

(Shiny pig. Would eat).

Ahem.


Being unimaginative (not my description, but my Year 9 Art teacher’s. Not bitter. No. Totally over it.) I chose Goulash to cook. There was an option for Goulash Soup but I was feeding three other people and wanted no potential for  hunger come the meal end. Soup simply would not do. I don’t have a cauldron, but reckoned on a big saucepan sufficing. Which it did.

Recipe:

Lecso turns up in nearly every recipe in this book and frankly I cannot be bothered to make it if a tomato will do instead. I bet it’s just tomato puree anyway.

I made this rather a while ago, so I can’t really remember what happened during the making, but let’s be honest, we’re only here to see what the dish looked like once it was made, aren’t we? So here it is:

It was lovely – hot and hearty like a tropical pirate. Or something. We had to add some mascarpone to cool it (I had failed to buy sour cream, there was mascarpone in the fridge from a previous pudding. Worked fine).

I omitted the small pieces of pasta and instead made Galuska, which according to the book are some kind of gnocchi like dumpling. We have a non-swearing policy on this blog, so I am unable to fully express how disappointing these were.

Here’s the recipe:

As you can see the ingredients do not constitute much. You’ve basically mashed up some starch and fat, boiled it and then fried it. They tasted like an experiment at a playgroup, one where the play supervisor hurriedly separates the children from the raw materials which they’ve somehow combined into something resembling food, but which is in no way fit for consumption. Weirdly my guests claimed to like these dumplings. I still have no explanation for that. They were hideous (the dumplings and the guests. Yes). I tossed a load of paprika in with them to mask the horror, but still..

Here’s photo:

Galusked by Alix

5 responses to “Cauldron Goulash and Galuskas

  1. Oh how dissappointing! The fried lumps look marv, but lard is…. not very nice-tasting, so I believe you that they were underwhelming.

    The Goulash sounds smashing though – will add that to list of things to try while the weather is still rubbish.

  2. Some of us were taught not to salt meat in a stew/casserole until the flesh was cooked and tender, as an anti-toughness measure. It obviously didn’t matter here. Greek yogurt also substitutes for sour cream.

  3. Oooh, I love goulash, but I make it without actual peppers, just paprika. I also burnt the hell out the last one I made which was a disappointment.

    In fact my old flatmates and I used to have Goulash Fridays when we all took it in turns to make goulash and then got stocious on cheap red wine with it. Happy days!

  4. I like the idea of the lecso – I looked it up and it would be more flavorful than just the tomato (http://www.whats4eats.com/vegetables/lecso-recipe). It’s like a tomato pepper ragout. I imagine that here in the US we could use stewed tomatoes with peppers in lieu of lecso. I loved the goulash I got in Germany, so I think this recipe might just be what I’m looking for.

  5. I was confused when I saw the galuska…when I made them before off a hungarian recipe site, they were much smaller bits…they looked a little like scrambled eggs in the dish. Maybe thats why you hated them…they probably should have told you on the recipe to push them through holes on a large colander or grate them.