Potage Saint-Germaine – Pea Soup

Final soup for January. This time from Ma Cuisine by Auguste Escoffier, published by Paul Hamlyn in 1934. (I am becoming very proficient at locating the recipes in this long book which do not require meat jelly or double cream!)

This is the second version given, the first being just boiled, puree’d peas with a little stock added. I was attracted to the idea of eating something summer-y, as it’s been so effing cold over the last week.

Recipe
2lb of Garden Peas
3oz butter
1 small lettuce
Pinch sugar
2 spring onions
½ teaspoon salt
½ water

Put all the ingredients together and cook until the peas are tender.  Rub through a fine sieve.  Return the puree to the pan, add some white stock and bring to boiling point.

In this way, the puree is less bright in colour [than the pea-only puree in the previous recipe] but has a more delicate flavour. In both cases add 2-3oz butter before serving and garnish with some cooked peas and a little chopped chervil or mint.

Notes

  • I made a quarter of the quantity listed  in this recipe
  • I used frozen petit pois
  • I skipped the garnishing stage – I’m not keen on mint in savoury food, I didn’t have any chervil (in fact, I can’t even think of what chervil tastes like) and I have no need of melting extra butter into my soup before serving it.

Results
This is very pleasing soup with a sweet, clean taste, although a little bit bland for me initially, I enjoyed it very much when I’d added a few more spring onions. Sieving the mixture was a complete faff however and I would recommend a using a food mill, stick blender or liquidizer.

Sainted by Elly

3 responses to “Potage Saint-Germaine – Pea Soup

  1. One nice thing you can do with pea soup is add some uncooked peas just before you purée it — not too many, just enough to boost the freshness a bit. How about some celery leaves in place of the mint/chervil?

  2. Ooooh, both fantastic suggestions. I particularly love the idea of celery leaves for garnish, which I have never heard before – tasty and thrifty!

  3. For those with a garden, or flowerpot, there is a herb, Parcel/Parcell (spelling?), a cross between parsley and celery. Prettiness, flavour and vitamins – ideal. Unwins is one company producing the seeds.