Shepherd’s Pie

So, to kick off my contributions to Pie Month here’s a classic. The recipe is from Good Housekeeping’s Cookery Book (1955):

I was aiming to double the quantities because I was cooking for four and half a pound of meat didn’t seem enough. Interestingly the meat is not specified but I used lamb, as that is the law for Shepherd’s Pie (the clue is in the name!). However I wrote down my shopping list wrong and came home with a pound of potatoes and a pound of lamb, so there was less potato than there should have been. The recipe is so simple I could have done it with my eyes shut – the trickiest part was making the furrows in the potato once I’d topped the pie! My oven doesn’t do grilling but I think it would have been even more nice had I been able to brown the top for a bit. I cheated a little by using Cookeen instead of dripping. It was a really tasty pie, and the sparsity of potato was unnoticeable. I served it with carrots and broccoli.

I went for the traditional lined furrows, after a failed attempt at creating boustrophedal furrows.

And this is it served up:

Shepherded by Alix

5 responses to “Shepherd’s Pie

  1. “boustrophedal furrow” well googlewhacked that girl!

  2. You’re right – the clue is in the name, but the recipe is meat non-specific as shepherd’s (or cottage) pie was traditionally made with Sunday roast left-overs. Just off to dictionary corner for that word . . .

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Shepherd’s Pie | The Vintage Cookbook Trials -- Topsy.com

  4. I have made myself hungry and learned a new word…

  5. I can’t go back to savoury now!