Camarones al Mojo de Ajo

Mexican food. Not something I’ve been very bothered about ever. I’m given to understand that decent Mexican food is hard to come by in London, and indeed, I think I’ve only been to one Mexican restaurant here, where it was all nice but nothing special. Things like burritos, fajitas and what’s the other one, tortillas have never done much for me either. Perfectly nice, but I’ve never craved them. Couple this, let’s call it cuisine indifference with a 1983 Sainsbury’s recipe book and you might forgive me for not expecting much from this dish. Plus it seemed too simple to be that good. All I can say, is, wow, was I glad to be proved wrong.


I’m going to say, on the record, that this recipe is the best thing I’ve prepared for this blog to date. Seriously, everyone needs to make this (unless they have shellfish allergies, in which case, best leave it. Health and safety, yo).

Ok, so the first thing was that I resolved to make something that looked more appetising than the photo in the book (I also acknowledged at the time that this mightn’t be the hardest challenge I’d ever set myself, but you know, small victories and all that).

Yeah. Not going to be hard to top that. Especially seeing as I used better prawns.

Basically, this is a lot of chopping finely. That’s the key. Get everything the same size, tabbouleh-style.  Then you’ll be laughing. If anything add more garlic and chilli, but the rest of the recipe is spot on. Here’s what it looked like:
What you can’t tell from this photo is that there was a filthily delicious oily sauce in the bowl – this was bread-dunking, messy fingers amazing territory. I will be making this again and again and again. Maybe adding other shellfish. The sauce is a perfect starting point for a lot of things, I reckon. Oh god, I want some now!
Camarone’d by Alix
7 responses to “Camarones al Mojo de Ajo

  1. We have this in Chile! It’s called “Al pil-pil” here…. mmmm so good. I’ve seen chicken and mushrooms down the same way, as well as other shellfish.
    Ñam! As they say here.

  2. I think you’d change your mind about tortillas if you ever ate fresh ones, hot off the griddle. Particularly if you had a bowl of salsa verde to eat with them. But yes, London is not a locale that comes to mind when one thinks about Mexican food 🙂

  3. Shay – I think you’re right, I just need to try some decent Mexican food!

  4. Veronika Thiel

    Sounds delicious, and am about to make it with mussels as I forgot to buy shrimps. Did you make it with rice or guacamole? If rice, just bogstandard or the arroz blanco (googled it and found a recipe that would add more garlic and lime to the dish, so not sure about that…)

  5. I just had it with some bread actually – didn’t quite make it into a full meal. Am planning doing it with the arroz blanco + guacamole soon. I think plain rice would be fine…

  6. Did make plain rice and used mussels – very nice indeed, although more oily stuff would have been required, did use truckloads of butter & oil but somehow didn’t get the goodness of the sauce that you’re describing. Works very well with mussels, did marinade them for a few minutes in the onions, parsley and garlic mixture (with a bit of olive oil) which was nice – picking them out again before frying the onion mix was a bit annoying though 🙂

  7. This sounds AMAZING. I want some NOW.