Almond Ginger Cookies

After the simplicity of the butter cakes, I swung in the opposite direction with some biscuits where the  quantities of spice listed were borderline worrying – how much clove?!

Recipe
1 cup butter
1 cup sugar
½ cup molasses
1 tablespoon ginger
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons cloves
1 teaspoon soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup blanched almonds, chopped
3 ½ cups sifted enriched flour

Blend butter and sugar.
Stir in molasses, spices, soda, salt, almonds and flour.
Turn onto a floured board and knead until dough is smooth.
Shape into thick rolls or oblongs, wrap in waxed paper, and chill.
Cut crosswise into ¼-inch thick slices, place on baking sheet rubbed with shortening, and bake at 350F degrees, for 8 – 10 minutes. Makes 8 dozen 2-inch cookies.

Notes

  • I made ¼ of the recipe, as I don’t need 96 biscuits of a dubiously-high level of seasoning.
  •  The assembly was straightforward – apart from grubbying a teatowel rubbing the almonds to remove the skin.
  •  I moulded the dough into a thin cuboid (I can’t say ‘oblong’, my year 9 maths teacher would kill me), before chilling it and when I sliced them up for baking, the biscuits were about the size of large postage stamps. I was untroubled by this having used self-raising flour and of course, baking soda.

Results

You can’t really tell from the photo, but let me assure you that the biscuits expanded not one millimeter (ok, maybe just one millimeter) during the baking process. They were nicely crunchy with a complex flavour (not overly spicey – the ginger and cloves sortof cancelled each other out though the cloves did induce the usual tongue-numbing effect. Or is that only me?). Unfortunately however, I felt like a mad person eating them as they were just too small. I love a petit four, but these were like doll’s food. So, make them (if you like), but make them the size you like.

Cloven by Elly

One response to “Almond Ginger Cookies

  1. Pingback: Link Groupie: The Vintage Cookbook Trials « The Nervous Purvis