Norwegian Cucumber Salad

I really love cucumber – marmite and cucumber on brown bread is one of my favourite sandwiches and has been since before I could properly pronounce the words. So I jumped at the chance to make this for our Eurovision party – it’s from Scandinavian Cooking by Beryl Frank, (published by Evans Brothers, 1978).

3 tablespoons boiling water
½ cup vinegar
3 tablespoons sugar
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon freshly ground pepper
3 cucumbers

Combine all ingredients except the cucumbers in a saucepan. Bring them to a boil.
Thinly slice, but do not peel, the cucumbers. Pour the liquid over the cucumbers. Allow them to cool.
Serve the salad garnished with parsley. Makes 6 – 8 servings.

Notes

  • I made just one cucumber’s worth. I suspect I misread the recipe and added a teaspoon and not a tablespoon of sugar, because writing this up just now, I winced at the idea of adding 3 tablespoons of sugar to a salad.
  • I used rice vinegar, because I  only had rice and red wine vinegars and thought it would probably be OK.
  • I added some chopped parsley before putting the whole lot in the fridge to chill, as I wanted to finish it completely before starting to cook anything else.

Results

After tasting when it had been cooling for an hour with the specified amount of salt and pepper, I then added lots more salt and pepper. I also (even though I am not one of those people who is mad for vinegar and all things pickled), felt it would benefit from more a more acidic flavour via a little more vinegar. However, it actually worked really well with the range of other things Alix and I had made, So if you are planning a meal of complex flavours and want something quick, easy, mild and fresh to go with them, I recommend this highly. It’s also a dish very amenable to alterations – so I would consider adding any of the following in the future: spring onions, chilli (fresh or dried), mustard, mustard seed, mint, chives.

Cucumbered by Elly

2 responses to “Norwegian Cucumber Salad

  1. This sounds gorgeous. I think I might add a wee bit of dill when I make this for lunch in about an hour…

  2. Sounds lovely – especially if one was also having fish!