Green Pea and Tomato Scramble

Although this book is one I’ve had since even before I started actively buying vintage cookbooks I don’t think I’ve ever cooked anything from it (may not be true, can’t be bothered to check). This is because it’s horrendous. Every single image in it is a browny-yellow shade and it makes vegetarianism sound like a problem which they’ve come up with a few palliative measures to make the burden slightly more bearable rather than a perfectly reasonable culinary choice. I’m sure with a bit more enthusiasm and better food photography many of the recipes would be more appealing but as it is, I’ve never wanted to cook any of them. Why I suddenly decided to the other night remains a mystery.

I think we can all agree that this looks pretty damn appetising (this is actually one of the nicer photos).

I halved the amounts and reluctantly stuck to the appropriate amount of garlic, thus rendering its inclusion utterly pointless, in my opinion. I didn’t bother skinning the tomatoes. I also omitted cayenne because I had none.

Anyway, it’s basically put stuff in a pan and heat and what resulted looked like vomit. I kept wishing the tomato was bacon.

Scrambled by Alix

2 responses to “Green Pea and Tomato Scramble

  1. It was the green flatware. That’s what got you to choose this one.

  2. I thought it was looking promising until you used that horrible word at the end, then it was ruined for me LOL