The Bakers’ ABC: I is for Inulin (alant starch)

A carbohydrate found as reserve matter in certain plants, such as artichokes, chicory, garlic, onions &c. The same plants contain an active enzyme to which the name inulase has been given, which transform inulin into an assimilable sugar.

In its ordinary state it is soluble in dilute caustic soda and hot water. It is not coloured blue by iodine. It is not affected by ordinary diastase, but can be changed to a form of sugar by boiling with dilute acid. When converted it has a stronger sweetening effect than cane sugar, and can be used in the preparation in diabetic bread.

From The Baker’s ABC by John Kirkland, formerly Head Teacher of National School of Baking, published 1927 by Gresham

2 responses to “The Bakers’ ABC: I is for Inulin (alant starch)

  1. Thank you for this. I’m deeply intolerant to inulin (and other forms of fructose) but haven’t been able to find much out about it. It’s used as a prebiotic in things these days and is part of the sweetification of everything in food at the moment I think.

    I do pine for Jerusalem artichokes though. My knobbly nemesis…

  2. You’re welcome. I’m enjoying posting these as a way to work my way through the book.