The Bakers’ ABC: O is for Oil of Egg

An oil obtained from the yolk of hard-boiled eggs by pressure or by solvents. Yolks of hen’s egg contains about 30% fatty matter. On account of its oily nature, small portions of yolk of egg left among the white are sufficient to prevent the whites from forming a “snow” when whisked. Meringue goods are sometimes spoiled from this cause.

From The Baker’s ABC by John Kirkland, formerly Head Teacher of National School of Baking, published 1927 by Gresham

3 responses to “The Bakers’ ABC: O is for Oil of Egg

  1. I don’t know what is says about my upbringing, but under my Ma’s rigorous tutelage I am amazing at whipping egg whites, and at separating them, essentially I am the egg whisperer, kind of. But I’ve never heard of Oil of Egg as a *thing*. Marvellous. Maybe we can run cars on ’em.

  2. How many miles per chicken?

  3. Margo, remind me to call on your services next time I want to cook something with meringue!

    Would you believe you can buy oil of egg as a nutritional supplement in some countries?