Soupe Menerboise

Today, a guest post by Martha (her others are here and here).

I bought Elizabeth David’s Summer Cooking sometime last year and we haven’t really had a summer since.  So I hadn’t got around to making anything from this until a week ago when after a day of sun I remembered that it was June.

Ms David is of course famous for her cookery writing as much as her recipes, and for shocking post-war English palettes with her re-introduction of the long-lost concept of flavour.  Her achievements also include persuading Le Creuset to  increase the number of colours in which its cookware was available, pointing at a pack of Gauloises and stating “That’s the blue I want,” (source).

Elly had a less than successful go at her Poulet Antiboise but I was hopeful about this. I really wanted a fresh tasting light soup full of seasonal veggies.

Notes
I made the full whack which is unusual for me as I live alone. But really, what’s the point of making one portion of soup? I’m not even sure it’s possible. I stuck to the recipe pretty faithfully. Except that I didn’t add the parmesan because I don’t like cheese. (Yeah, yeah, stick it in the comments. Haterz gonna hate.)

I could have done with a bigger pestle and mortar to make what she refers to as the ‘sauce’ I had to smash the garlic first then the basil and then move those into a bowl. Then smoosh the grilled tomato and add that and finally the egg yolks. Oh that reminds me, I have to find something to do with a couple of poorly separated egg whites. Hm…

Results

Anyway, the soup was delicious. Just what the doctor ordered. Nice and fresh yet substantial. Nothing curdled; not when I was making it, nor on reheating. It goes well with a goodly grind of black pepper and some granary bread. I dare say it’s even good with parmesan. If you like that sort of thing.

Got an old recipe you’d like to try and then tell the internet about? Email us vintagecookbooktrials[AT]gmail[DOT]com


9 responses to “Soupe Menerboise

  1. Toffeeapple

    I am with you in your attitude to cheese! The soup looks good, I suspect I shall try it at some point. I have never managed to make one portion of soup either, they usually last three to four days for me.

  2. I am with you too! You are not the only non-cheesivore out there.

  3. Toffeeapple

    Gosh, I wonder how many more there are?

  4. It reminds me of minestrone, a summer veg version and fancier. A meal in a bowl. Cheese? Yes, please.

  5. I’m so happy to have brought 3 fromageophobes together (even if you baffle me) – this blog is a safe space for all tastes.

  6. Egg yolks? That’s the only ingredient I’m balking at, but otherwise it looks delicious. Courgettes are a favorite of mine!

  7. Egg yolks here are for thickening the soup and could be omitted. They were considered more ‘cordon bleu’ than starchy ingredients, i.e. flours from various grains, in traditional French sauce/soup cuisine. Now egg yolks have been demonised by the low-fat freaks who eat egg-white omelettes.

  8. You can’t taste the egg yolks. I’m not a fan either but they don’t intrude.

  9. Pingback: And in the meantime… « Yarn & Spices